Watermelon
Battle.net Name: Watermelon
Battle.net Char Code: 1918
Battle.net Server: NA

Professor Watermelon's "Skating 101"

Post by Watermelon » Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:54 pm

I have created this guide for the following purpose:

To help new or mediocre Zealot Hockey skaters become inhouse-ready

You might say to yourself, "I am already a good player, this is a waste of time for me." There are many players who think they are good when they really are not. Moreover, if you do know all of this already, you can give me constructive criticism.

Why should you listen to my advice?

I started playing Zealot Hockey in January, and I sucked. 6 months later, I was voted in to the ZHL Season 1 All-Star game. So in short, you should trust my advice because I understand what it takes to get from the very bottom to the (near) top.

Chapter 1: Controls

Proper understanding and usage of the controls in Zealot Hockey is required if you wish to become skilled at the game. Since you can easily figure these out on your own, I am only going to cover one very common mistake related to controls: The use of the X button.

Hitting X allows you to turn and move in a different direction on the ice faster. It is there for a reason. If you want to get good at Zealot Hockey, you should form a habit of hitting X every time you change direction on the ice. It may seem difficult at first, but trust me, it will become second nature.

Chapter 2: Basic Defense

Your primary objective as a defender should NOT be to steal the puck. Rather, you should focus on making your goalie's life easier.

Instead of constantly trying to steal the puck, wasting your Z boost and letting yourself get out of position, focus on doing the following:

A) Block shooting lanes
Don't give the opponent with the puck a clear lane to shoot at the net.

B) Block passing lanes
Don't give the opponent with the puck a clear lane to pass to his teammate.

C) Punish the puck holder if he gets aggressive.